Program book is now available.

HOPOS 2022

HOPOS, the International Society for the History of Philosophy of Science, is devoted to promoting scholarly research on the history of philosophy of science. We construe this subject broadly, to include topics in the history of related disciplines and in all historical periods, studied through diverse methodologies. We aim to promote historical work in a variety of ways, but especially through encouraging exchange among scholars through meetings, publications, and electronic media.

HOPOS 2022 is open to scholarly work on the history of philosophy of science from any disciplinary perspective. To encourage scholarly exchange that speaks to the cultural and temporal reach of HOPOS, we especially encourage submissions that take up philosophical themes that cross different cultures and time periods.  

The conference language is English.

Keynote Speakers

Katherine Brading, Duke University
Philip van der Eijk, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Program Committees

Kant and Before
Post Kant
Gideon Manning (Chair), Cedars-Sinai Medical Center & Claremont Graduate UniversityFlavia Padovani (Chair), Drexel University
Eva Del Soldato, University of PennsylvaniaElise Crull, The City College of New York
Bennett McNulty, University of Minnesota, MinneapolisChris Pincock, Ohio State University
Luis Salas, Washington University in St. LouisDana Tulodziecki, Purdue University
Kirsten Walsh, University of ExeterSander Verhaegh, Tilburg University


Local Organizing Committee: Jeremy Heis (Chair), Simon Huttegger, Renee Raphael, Kyle Stanford, James Weatherall

HOPOS Governance

Steering Committee

David Stump, President, University of San FranciscoKatherine Dunlop, University of Texas at Austin
Zvi Biener, Vice-President, University of CincinnatiFlavia Padovani, Drexel University
Mary Domski, Past President, University of New MexicoAlison Peterman, University of Rochester
Marcus Adams, Executive Secretary, State University of New York at AlbanyKirsten Walsh, University of Exeter
Matthew J. Brown, Treasurer, University of Texas at Dallas
Sophie Roux, École Normale Supérieure - Paris

Maarten Van Dyck, Ghent University


Support for HOPOS 2022 is provided by the University of California, Irvine School of Social Sciences and Department of Logic and Philosophy of Science.


General inquiries about HOPOS 2022 can be directed to Dr. Jeremy Heis (